New Hampshire’s election recount season is in full swing, with Tuesday concluding the second day of requested recounts. Thus far, no changes have been made in results.

Tuesday saw a second state Senate race recount. Denise Ricciardi (R-Bedford), the first time candidate for Senate, originally prevailed over Senator Jeanne Dietsch (D-Peterborough) by 409 votes. Half-way through the recount, Senator Dietsch canceled the hand tally after Ricciardi grew her margins in both Dietsch’s home town of Peterborough, and Ricciardi’s hometown of Bedford.

The Senate now officially has a GOP majority with at least 13 seats, with the final recount Wednesday for Senate District 12.  Kevin Avard (R-Nashua) is leading Senator Melanie Levesque (D-Brookline) by more than 800 votes. If the results hold, Avard will cement a 14-10 GOP majority for the next two years in the upper chamber.

Update: In Merrimack House District 17, Dennis Soucy (R-Concord) requested a recount after falling 193 votes short on election day. After hand recounting, both candidates picked up seven votes apiece. Rep. Sofia Wazir (D-Concord) will keep her seat for the ’21-’22 session with a final margin of 193 votes.

On Monday, Gary Daniels (R-Milford) affirmed his victory over Shannon Chandley (D-Amherst) for state Senate District 11.  Prior to the recount, Daniels led by 198 votes, 17,457 to 17,259.  After recounting all four towns over 8 hours, Daniels prevailed by 159 votes, 17,493 to 17,334.

In most recounts, ballots are counted that machines missed – ballots on which voters placed an ‘X’ over the circle, used another marking style, or circled the names of their preferred candidates. The machines, which are very reliable in New Hampshire, miss these un-ordinary markings.

Daniels picked up 36 new votes and Chandley picked up 75, but the final result remained the same.

Nashua’s Ward 7 recount results did not change either, with Charlie Hall (R-Nashua) only gaining 3 on Melbourne Moran Jr. (D-Nashua.) Moran Jr. was victorious by 18 votes on the final tally for the third State Rep. seat in that district 1,805 to 1,787.

The remaining recounts are, as scheduled:

Wednesday, November 11, 2020
9:00 a.m. – State Senate District 12
2:00 p.m. – State Representative – Grafton District 17

Thursday, November 12, 2020
9:00 a.m. – State Representative – Rockingham District 7
2:00 p.m. – State Representative – Strafford District 7

Friday, November 13, 2020
9:00 a.m. – State Representative – Hillsborough District 15
9:00 a.m. – State Representative – Hillsborough District 19
1:00 p.m. – State Representative – Hillsborough District 16

Monday, November 16, 2020
9:00 a.m. – State Representative – Sullivan District 9
2:00 p.m. – State Representative – Merrimack District 20

Tuesday, November 17, 2020
9:00 a.m. – State Representative – Hillsborough District 4
2:00 p.m. – State Representative – Sullivan District 2

Wednesday, November 18, 2020
9:00 a.m. – Executive Council District 5